Skip to content

US Pro Tour Recap!

A total phenominal time was had in Steamboat Springs Stage 4 and Stage 5 of the US Pro Cycling Challenge.  It was a challenge to say the least…over 12,000ft of climbing was done after it was all said and done on Sunday afternoon in Downtown Denver.  Levi Leimpheimer ended up winning from team RadioShack, by a narrow margin of 11 seconds.

So after the stage I went to a Honey Stinger reps get together where there was free food and drink…pretty cool to get to meet some of the dealers.  There was also music by the “Old Town Pickers” which was great.

It was time for bed after all the festivities and I hadn’t even found a place yet and it was definitely dark.  I love the procrastinator I am; priorities, right?

So I drove up the mountain on Highway 40 East until I found a spot I was halfway comfortable with and went with it; I didn’t have time to be picky.  I sent up my tent and got the rain fly on JUST in time before a few sprinkles started, score! 

It was pretty close to the road and sketched me out a little bit.  But there were other people there and like I said, all the other spots were really picked over when I was coming into town.  

As I woke up at 6:30 am I was raring to ride!  After changing into my riding gear and taking down my tent I rode into Steamboat for some much needed breakfast before my long ride.  At a fantastic breakfast burrito and had a peach smoothie, which gave me the fuel I needed to start my Trek (no pun intended) up to Rabbit Ears pass, at 9,300 ft.  

On my way to the top I felt like I was in the Tour de France…fans who had been camped out there for soo long and up early where cheering me on along with hundreds of others riding up to the summit!  I didn’t know what to expect, and was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at the top!  The MOST enthusiastic fans I’ve seen…

Here are a few photos of the riders as they made it up to the summit:

And here is a final shot of Cadel Evans, Tour de France winner! 

One of the most fun experiences of my life! Thanks Colorado, so privileged to be able to experience this amazing Tour!  Can’t wait to see you next year!

RednavelRacing 

Posted by ryanlevander on August 29, 2011

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

Colorado Woodcraft

HANDCRAFTED COLORADO FLAGS MADE FROM BEETLE KILL WITH LOVE!

Moving Art by Louie Schwartzberg

If a picture is worth 1000 words, this will leave you breathless.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

