Skip to content

Summit County!

Is it a coincidence that the word “rad” is in the middle of ColoRADo?! I think not! After my job interview in Boulder on Friday I stopped by Newton Running Lab to drop off my application for sponsorship in 2012:

After that I was off to Summit County and Leadville, the highlands of Colorado! Once you start heading West on Interstate 70 you’ll hit Golden, just West of Denver. Plenty of Professional endurance athletes live and train there. Its right by Denver for adequate resources for work, social life, etc. Also its not far from some phenomenal locations to train at, with some serious elevation benefits. One pro mountain biker from back home in North Dakota lives in Golden, Kelly Magelky (click on name to check out his blog). I went riding with him and his buddy Josh last year; the day ended up with me in the hospital after a concussion, but all in all, it was EPIC! 

Here’s a photo of Kelly and I on our ride in Golden last year:

So anyway, once you hit 70 West you’ll pass Idaho Springs, Georgetown, Silverthorne, Frisco, then Copper Mountain (famous ski resort), and then its Highway 91 South to Leadville!

A look at I-70 West from Golden to Leadville:

Here’s a great shot of Dillion Reservoir, just outside of Frisco:

And this was a trail I found just outside of Leadville, pretty much paradise if you ask me!

Trail run outside of Leadville!


Here are some of my favorites from Leadville and Summit County:

 

After catching some great sunset photos I put my headlamp on and decided to get in my run through Leadville. (I totally looked like a miner, fit right in there! haha)

LEADVILLE RUN

That was my first official training run of the year, not a bad way to start, running at the highest elevated city in the US! I will have training updates more regularly now! 

Future Site Updates:

-Sponsorship information 

-Podcasts (Sports Nutrition Talk, Colorado Racing updates, my training, and some parallels with Endurance Planet’s podcasts)

-Gear Reviews (Cold weather gear for cycling, running, swimming, XC Skiing, etc)

So check back here for quality posts/podcasts packed with great information on training! 

P.S. I love it when I get feedback from my readers! Whether it be on photos, posts, or future podcasts. Helps me know how I’m doing on here, and if the information is actually helpful. Also, if you have any questions on training, nutrition, races, etc…I’d love to answer them or chat with you! Leave a reply here or email me @ levander.ryan@gmail.com

Posted by ryanlevander on November 20, 2011
2 Comments Post a comment
  1. 11/22/2011

    Great post, Ryan! Look forward to the podcasts- it will be a great new medium for your website!

    Reply
    • 11/23/2011

      Thanks Mariah! New podcast is up!

      I’ll have some topics at the end of this week for next weeks podcast! If you have any cool topics you want to potentially hear about, get at me! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

Colorado Woodcraft

HANDCRAFTED COLORADO FLAGS MADE FROM BEETLE KILL WITH LOVE!

Moving Art by Louie Schwartzberg

If a picture is worth 1000 words, this will leave you breathless.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

