Skip to content

Photo Merging the Front Range

Last night I lugged my DSLR, lenses, and tripod to the top of Horsetooth Rock for my first real photo merging into a panorama experience. This is an in depth process, and there is by no means one way to achieve great photographic results. For instance, I used a tripod thinking it would make for an easier merging process. Wrong. Well, in this case. I have an ultra wide angle lens which already adds distortion to photos.

Something I’m really glad I did was use strictly manual settings on my camera. It takes more knowledge and even a little trial and error for me still, but it streamlines the process in Lightroom afterwards. After importing the photos into Lightroom, all you need to do is edit ONE photo the precise way you want it (general presets, no brushes, filters, etc). Hold down the shift key, select all the photos you want to incorporate into the panorama, and then sync, tah-daa!

Screen Shot 2013-11-14 at 11.41.30 PM

I used a Lightroom/Photoshop/Lightroom process. I’ll post a video or podcast on how I did it at another time.

Ok, time to see a couple of my favorite panoramas from last night!

Panorama #1 (Click to enlarge and do it justice!)

IMG_1870

Panorama #2 (Click to enlarge and do it justice!)

IMG_1843These photos are available for purchase. Fill out the CONTACT FORM or just shoot an email to levander.ryan@gmail.com and I’d be happy to talk rates with you!

These photos are massive in size. Around 11,000 pixels each. That equates to them spanning almost 10 feet in length before image quality will be compromised. Go big or go home, eh? 😉

FINALLY, FOR THE POLL:

Posted by ryanlevander on November 15, 2013

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

Colorado Woodcraft

HANDCRAFTED COLORADO FLAGS MADE FROM BEETLE KILL WITH LOVE!

Moving Art by Louie Schwartzberg

If a picture is worth 1000 words, this will leave you breathless.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

